japanese · student meals

Japanese inspired…

When I’m trying to put a meal together don’t be surprised if you see me grab some chicken and go ham with randomly chosen spices and herbs whereas my brother is a man of more “particular” tastes. Given the same task he’d probably have to put a strategic plan in place in order to avoid disappointment lol.

It kind of brings me back to a time when we had a discussion about our favourite cuisines. We concluded with him placing Japanese food in high regard and me undecided. His reasons included raising the point that although the process of preparing and cooking this cuisine can be extremely complicated the dishes are quite flavourful and harmonious. I couldn’t  agree more despite the fact that for me it was quite difficult to choose because as you’ve probably gathered I’m not opposed to trying new things from all over the world. He’s away for uni but if he was here I know he’ll approve of this one.

That being said, this dish is perfect especially for students such as ourselves who have grown accustomed to empty fridges sometimes due to an unplanned shopping binge, being exhausted or most often poor laziness. I myself can relate to this being a daily struggle and have many friends who experience this too so don’t feel alone. However one thing I do know is that most students have at least one packet of instant noodles stuffed somewhere in your cupboards.

(Also I think the ginger will also do me some good because right now I’m literally all bunged up! I have contracted the deadly cold virus from someone. You see, this is the problem when you hug med students-the worse culprits! They are either spreading it around or sick themselves). SMH

So let’s hope that this soup gets me well pretty quick 😉

My Ramen Noodle soup (STUDENT STYLE)

300g beef fillets, washed and sliced (1cm thick)

The beef pieces were marinated in approximately :

1 tbsp Sweet chilli sauce

1 tbsp garlic and ginger paste

1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

(The measurements of the marinade were not exact so you are free to adjust accordingly).

 

For the broth:

500ml chicken stock

1 tsp ginger garlic paste

4 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1-2 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp crushed red chillies

2 packs of instant noodles

 

Toppings:

2 spring onions, sliced

3 small carrots, julienned

1 can of sweet corn

4 eggs, hard boiled

 

Marinate the fillets for a least a couple hours.

Preheat the grill at 180 degrees Celsius and it should take about 10 minutes on each side.

Start prepping the toppings.

Saute the ginger and garlic paste for 1-2 minutes at a medium heat.

Add the chicken broth, Worcestershire sauce, sugar, soy sauce, crushed red chilli and ground black pepper and bring to the boil.ramen3

Turn down to a simmer until slightly thickened.

For the noodles just follow the packet instructions.

Divide the noodles, beef and vegetable toppings and add the soup on top.

 
ramen2

Enjoy guys!!!

One thought on “Japanese inspired…

Leave a Reply

