curry · fish · vegetarian

It’s freezing…

Spoiler alert!

I have an insatiable appetite for a good curry, be it Mongolian, Indian, Jamaican or otherwise there’s something tantalizing about them. They are so flavourful, warming and comforting that they are so fitting for this chilly season. Maybe I crave such a dish because I write this wrapped up head-to-toe in layers of clothes because right now in London the temperature has plummeted to 9 degrees Celsius. (To be fair I think my loyal readers would know such a fact about me already considering how often I upload a post about them).

So what made me choose this dish?

Well…

I came home to find some pretty nice looking basa fillets in the freezer and got too excited thinking about what I could make for dinner. To anyone who doesn’t know, they are a type of catfish with a very mild and delicate texture and little to no bones. (This makes it ideal for the dish below because it shouldn’t take very long at all). My mum must of noticed my perplexed expression and then came up with the suggestion of a curry. To that proposal I had no choice but to agree. I am glad that I did decide to make it because in the end it was a wonderful dish and I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

4 basa fillets

100g spinach, washed

2 spring onions, washed and sliced

1 celery stick, washed and sliced

1 tsp honey

1 tsp sugar

1 tbsp curry powder, medium

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp garam masala

1 tsp chilli flakes

1 tsp coriander flakes, dried

1 tsp lemon juice

1/2 tsp white pepper, ground

~150ml water

Salt, to taste

1 tbsp vegetable oil

Saute the onions and celery until the onions have camerilised.

Add the spinach, water, honey, sugar, lemon juice and spices and bring to the boil.

Allow to simmer until the liquid has reduced to to the desired consistency.

Salt to taste.

Add the fish at the very end at a low heat for about 5-8 minutes. (Be very careful because the fish can turn soft very quickly).

Sprinkle with spring onions and serve.

wp_20161103_17_58_20_prowp_20161103_18_03_11_prowp_20161103_18_06_18_proimg-20161103-wa0008img-20161103-wa0005img-20161103-wa0004

🙂

‘Til next time….

4 thoughts on “It’s freezing…

Leave a Reply

