dinner · student meals · vegetables · vegetarian

Elevating humble veg…

I love summer!!! But for someone like me, the nearer you get to this season you can be sure to expect late nights, stress-eating and sore eyes from reading all those books and notes drenched in fluorescent highlighters.

Yep that’s right.

The time has returned again. Back with a vengeance! A med student’s “achilles’ heel”-the dreaded exam season.

Like I said before, and I do hope that I’m not alone in this, but I sometimes end up craving what I shouldn’t. If you don’t believe me, I’m actually writing this post at 12:35am whilst contemplating baking an unhealthy and sugary treat (despite having virtually no butter in the fridge).

Anyways lets hope willpower kicks in and that I end up settling for peppermint tea instead.

I guess what helps to lessen this blow to my digestive system is the relatively healthy meals I have particularly for lunch or dinner. (Because I tend to just have a cup of herbal tea for breakfast, if I do have anything at all). You can’t get much healthier than good ol’ veg so…

A great way to make vegetables exciting is to make a comforting stew that involves minimal effort but produces maximal results.

DSCF4456

To tell you the truth, I love vegetables. So many people have an utter distaste for them. My parents were blessed with me being a child that wasn’t really a fussy eater at all, and that fact remains today. But for those of you who are, whatever age, I urge you to try this stew and I’m sure you’ll become a hardcore fan in no time. 

Costanza’s veggie stew

650ml vegetable (or beef) stock

Any selection of vegetables you decide (I used approximately 100g spinach, 3 large potatoes, 1 handful of mushrooms, 1 tomato and 2 spring onions)

1 tbsp ground white pepper

1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

3 bay leaves, dried

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tin red kidney beans

Sprinkle of salt (optional)

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsuis.

All you have to do is wash and chop the vegetables so that they are all a similar size.

Add the rest of the ingredients, mix and transfer to an oven-proof dish.

Cook for 3o-35 minutes.

DSCF4466DSCF4471DSCF4477DSCF4480DSCF4481DSCF4483DSCF4485DSCF4487DSCF4492DSCF4494

Look at all that veggie goodness!

Yum 🙂

Bye ya’ll

p.s The inner psyche prevailed and I settled with some tea before bed 🙂

3 thoughts on “Elevating humble veg…

Leave a Reply

