chicken · easy · student meals

May your fridge inspire you

Hopefully you have already read my previous post in regards to my most recent food haul, right?

If not, please click here.

Now that you’re back…

Sometimes it’s a fun challenge to just open the cupboards, fridge/freezer and see what you can put together. It kind of reminds me of the part of MasterChef where the contestants are tested for their level of gastronomic creativity and given a mystery box. There main aim-to blow the judges out of the water whilst adhering to the brief provided by the judges. It feels like ages since I watched the UK Amateur Masterchef final. Oh how nostalgic!!!

Between you and me, I can’t say that I could hack it to be frank. LOL

(Even with the advantage of buying what I will be using, I doubt I’ll measure up to that. I think that’s why I relish programmes like that. People have God-given gifts, some to play multiple instruments, to make scientific advancements and others to cook plates of food from out of this world.)

Now if you asked me to sum up this next recipe with one word it would be SIMPLE! It is so easy and thankfully we leave most of the hard work to the oven. My family tend to use the oven (or grill) for our meals more often than not because it is can be more easier and also is a healthier option to say frying. It is as though this has been ingrained within me because despite living away from home I continue to adopt this way of cooking more times than not.

For this recipe, the chicken and vegetables will be wrapped in foil and cooked within the oven to allow the flavours to intensify. This technique is called en Papillote and seems flashy but is very much achievable in the comfort of your own home.

Chicken breast en papillote

700g chicken breast fillets, washed

1 onion, sliced

3 garlic cloves, minced

1 tsp sugar

1-2 tbsp salt

1 tsp ground white pepper

1 tbsp chicken seasoning

1 carrot, sliced thinly

1 tomato, diced

100g spinach, washed

Sweet chilli sauce (as much as desired)

Just mix everything together (excluding the sweet chill sauce) in a large bowl and set side for at least 20 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

Place all the ingredients onto a large piece of foil and wrap tightly and oven bake for 40-45 minutes.

If desired, drizzle over with the chosen amount of sweet chill sauce and cook for a further 5 minutes.

(I served mines with roast potatoes and used this recipe here).

DSCF4416DSCF4420DSCF4423DSCF4426DSCF4429DSCF4430DSCF4431DSCF4432DSCF4434DSCF4435DSCF4436DSCF4437DSCF4440

I sure wish I plated the dish better because it just doesn’t scream “EAT ME”!!!

Nonetheless, they say that the proof is in the eating so please give it a try it when you get a chance.

DSCF4447DSCF4449

Bon appétit! 🙂

One thought on “May your fridge inspire you

Leave a Reply

