Uncategorized

Food haul

It’s been a while since my flat-mate (and bestie) and I have done a proper shop. Every so often we’ll pop round the local corner shop to get little bits and pieces here and there but it got to the point where the fridge was crying out to be filled.

As always, we wrote a list but as expected came back with what we wanted plus some added extras that caught our eye lol.

I love variety. I love choice. I well…just love FOOD!

Grocery shopping itself can be quite laborious process at times but there are instances where I find myself coming home excited. This is particularly when I find ingredients I was searching for in order to try out one of my own recipes or when I find unusual ingredients that I may or may have not used before.

Why I decided to do a grocery haul…

As you may or may not know I spend quite a considerable amount of time on YouTube (possibly too much) watching various uploads to do with anything-from the latest fashion trends, hair care and of course even food. In doing so, it has made me aware of an up and coming trend where vloggers talk about what they purchased in their weekly (or monthly) shop.

Unfortunately, I still have yet to put together a YouTube channel but it does not mean to say that I too can’t embark on this growing trend. Personally, I think it is quite interesting to see what kind of food people buy and it gives us a little insight into their day-to-day lives and their food preferences.

So I certainly hope you enjoy this post guy!

So here it goes…

WARNING: You are about to witness a lot of food, however, bare in mind that this is set to last us a good few weeks. (All I can say is thank God for freezers!!!)

We bought quite a bit but thankfully we didn’t have to worry about some items since we already had them and they included things like milk, butter, seasoning, salt, sugar, mackerel, sardines, corned beef, tinned tomatoes and rice.

Fruits and veg:

I cannot survive without garlic and onions and use them nearly everyday-so buying them was a no brainer. We also bought some carrots, potatoes, iceberg lettuce, spring onions, cucumbers, tomatoes, oranges, bananas, a bag of spinach and loads of mushrooms. Mushrooms are extremely versatile, have short cooking times and are also ideal for those lazy days when we don’t want to bother with meat but we crave that unami flavour.DSCF4347I love spinach so much that I had to take a photo of it by itself in all it’s glory lol. You can make salads, a spinach and ricotta lasagna, you can even mix some through your scrambled eggs. The possibilities are endless! It actually inspired my next blog post but more about that later…DSCF4398Beverages:

We primarily drink water throughout the day, and as the summer spells approach will be required more and more. Therefore we bought quite a lot of bottles of water which should keep us for upto a week or so but we will most likely have to buy some more very soon. We also like to drink herbal teas and I often have one in the morning for breakfast before we leave for university. For an added zing I also like to add some pieces of fresh ginger which helps wake me up and aids with digestion. The flavours we decided on were peppermint, chamomile and honey, forest fruits and green tea. DSCF4356Meat, fish and poultry:

We bought quite a variety of meat and the bulk of these purchases will be kept in the freezer and defrosted as and when it is necessary. They included: steak, beef sausages and burgers, boneless beef pieces, chicken breast fillets, chicken thighs and legs, a whole chicken and ground beef mince. Some added extras that I am looking forward to using are rainbow trout, pork belly slices, chicken liver and chicken gizzards. Yum!DSCF4361

DSCF4390
Rainbow trout
DSCF4395
Chicken liver
DSCF4396
Chicken gizzards-love them!

No student cupboard would be complete without baked beans. Tuna is also a great thing for people like us to use. For some recipe ideas check them out here . I really want to be try out an authentic Punjabi Rajma Masala one day with the red kidney beans so hopefully that bodes well.

DSCF4383
Sweet Corn, red kidney beans, baked beans and tuna.

I love eggs-can’t get enough of them! You can have them for breakfast, lunch and dinner so they are always handy to have. For a great Spanish frittata recipe look no further than here.

DSCF4400
Egg are such humble ingredients

I have a serious issue with mayonnaise-just can’t get enough of the stuff! I love having it with my chips, spreading some in my sandwiches, you name it I’ve done it. I pray and hope that buying”light” mayonnaise will compensate for this addiction LOL.DSCF4409We also got some wholewheat pasta and a couple loaves of bread but I didn’t get round to taking photos of them. There was no way I could leave without getting some nuts-one of my favourite snacks. Both my family and I share an insatiable love for nuts-brazil nuts, walnuts, pistachios, almonds etc. One of our favourite things to do is to buy a nut mix and then add some sultanas and/or raisins. One word: BEAUTIFUL!!!

I guess it would also be nice to talk about what I did with some of what I bought, right?

I’m not really sure what’s our food plans for the next few weeks to be honest but I will be making something with the spinach tonight.

DSCF4412
Today’s breakfast: Peppermint tea with fresh ginger
DSCF4388
Today’s lunch: Tuna, sweetcorn, spring onions and mayonnaise
DSCF4431
Today’s dinner: TO BE CONTINUED….

Like I hinted before, I decided on using spinach in one of my own recipes for dinner so stay tuned as this will be uploaded this week!!!

Bye for now!

 

6 thoughts on “Food haul

    1. I got these ingredients whilst in Bulgaria so that made it pretty easy since they have it in the local supermarkets. However these ingredients are very easy to find in UK shops and/or butchers. I assume that the same can be true if you were based in the USA. Where are you based? Thanks very much for your kind comments and I wish you all the best with your endeavours too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Amazing – Bulgarian ingredients in UK stores! I am in USA, if you can call South Florida USA, and we have a couple of Russian and Polish stores, but that’s the extent of it. Nothing in supermarkets other than Hispanic selections, but it’s a whole other interesting area to explore. I thank you for your wishes, but I am retired, so all the endeavors and ambitions are for you, young people!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

