Asian · dinner · student meals

Fried rice with a twist

Off to work….outside 2On my way home….night

I write this as I eat the awesome dinner I came home to: succulent braising steak, green peas, tomatoes and basmati rice…

I only just got home from work but I couldn’t help but upload this new post. I realise that you guys have been expecting another for a few days and now is a better time than any to answer your prayers!!!

When I’m not at university I work as a tutor for secondary school (high school) students. It is quite a privilege to be given the opportunity to pass my knowledge to the younger generation and get paid for it too. And there are even times when I find myself learning new things from the student themselves, because, to tell you the truth it’s been a long time since I’ve opened a KS3 textbook. In spite of this, it has shown me that the brain remembers much more than we think it can.

“Never set yourself limits! For when you are striving towards your goal, it is this self-confidence that provides the driving force you will need to get you there.” -Me

When I was deciding on what I would talk about next, I started sifting through the countless pieces of paper that grace my bedroom. Physiology notes. Old school certificates. Even primary school artwork. On occasion, I find it hard to dispose of stuff like this because of the fear that I may need them in the not too distant future (or it may in fact be just my subconscious saving “memorabilia” that I can show the grandkids when I’m older).

Who knows?

In searching through my paperwork I did unearth some useful things including a very easy but rewarding recipe of mines, so here it is:

Chicken and pineapple fried rice

egg fried rice 5

Ingredients

800g Chicken breast fillets, cut into chunks

3-4 tbsp rice vinegar

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tbsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground black pepper

1 tbsp garlic salt

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 onion, chopped

3 spring onions, sliced

1 red chilli, diced

Salt to taste

To be added later…

~500g basmati rice, washed and cooked

2-3 eggs, size medium

1 tbsp parsley, fresh

155g sugar snaps peas, roughly chopped

1 handful of pineapple chunks, cubed

1 handful frozen garden peas

egg rice 1

egg rice 2

egg fried rice 4

egg fried rice 3

 

Instructions

Season and marinate the chicken breast chunks for a minimum of one hour with the rice wine vinegar, brown sugar, ginger, black pepper, garlic salt, garlic clove, chilli and salt to taste.

Cook the rice according to the packet instructions.

egg fried rice 7Brown the chicken breast chunks evenly with a bit of sunflower oil.

Remove them from the pan and then add the spring onions, common onions, garden peas and sugar snap peas.

Fry for about two minutes and then add the eggs, scrambling with a fork constantly until cooked.

Put the chicken breast chunks back into the saucepan along with the the drained rice and pineapple chunks.

Mix thoroughly for about a minute or two.

Garnish with some fresh parsley and serve!

 

 

(I think it’s about time I invest in a wok but luckily a regular saucepan worked a treat as a substitute).

TTYL 🙂

p.s Pl

Leave a Reply

