Uncategorized

Fluffy on the inside, crispy on the outside

I just don’t understand why people would hate potatoes. I LOVE POTATOES. Mashed. Boiled. Baked. You name it, I’ll eat it. I’ve tried to develop “food empathy” and put myself in their shoes but my love for this versatile staple persists. I mean, when I get a plate of good quality sausages/a tender slice of beef with a side of homemade creamy mash or even some grilled salmon with boiled potatoes I just can’t help but feel comfort lol.

Grilled fish, boiled potatoes and steamed veg (celery, tomatoes, spinach and carrots)
Bangers and mash with an onion and apple gravy
Jacket potato with spicy tuna and crunchy salad

But it’s true, except for watching Mr and Mrs Potato Head of Toy Story, some people don’t enjoy them as much. I even have one or two friends with that same mindset. But thanks be to God, our friendship is strong enough to maintain such a difference of opinion with such an important issue (!) πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

But jokes aside, it would be grossly unfair of me to force people into liking what I like. Because the beauty of world cuisine is that there is something for everybody. I might like something that someone would not and visa versa, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Like I said before, potatoes can be prepared in all manner of ways. So the question is…

When do I like potatoes the least?

If I hated one potato product it’d be frozen roasted potatoes. I absolutely detest them with a passion. I have no idea how to sum up why I find them so uncomfortable to eat. In short, I find that they lack flavour and find the coating akin to some “fake” powdery crust that just isn’t to my liking. This kind of put me off roasted potatoes for a while…

But, I am pleased to say that I have regained my love for roasties…all thanks to an attempt of doing them myself.

Getting delicious crispy roasties every time is certainly no mean feat but applying some of these tips below can definitely make it easier:

  • The starchier the potato the better (eg. Maris Pipers, Desirees , starchy Russets etc).
  • Preheat the oven before you roast them.
  • Parboiling for about 10-15 minutes before roasting makes the outsides crisp better.
  • Drain properly using a colander.
  • Shake them around thoroughly to roughen their edges before you place them into the oven.
  • Coat them evenly with a thin layer of vegetable oil (and chosen seasoning) instead of pouring it into the roasting tin and placing them on top. This prevents them from becoming too greasy.
  • Flavour well with herbs, spices and a sprinkle of sugar .
  • Keep turning throughout to enable even crisping (approximately every 10-15 minutes).

 

Herb crusted roast potatoes

Ingredients

~1kg starchy potatoes of your choosing, washed and cubed

1tsp Coriander, ground

1tsp Oregano, dried

1tsp Parsley, dried

1tsp Sugar

1 tsp White pepper

All purpose seasoning to taste (~1-2 tbsp)

2-3tbsp vegetable oil

3 Garlic cloves, minced

 

Directions

Get a deep saucepan and add the potatoes. Cover with preheated water until it reaches about 1 inch above them and then bring to the boil. Add salt to taste. Parboil for a maximum of 15 minutes, drain and place into a large bowl.

Preheat the oven to 200Β°C.

Toss them around with the vegetable oil, garlic, herbs, spices, seasoning and sugar and then mix with a large spoon in a slightly bashing motion.

Spread evenly onto the baking tray and roast for 45-50 minutes until all sides are golden and crispy. (Turn over the potatoes throughout).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

ServeΒ with roast chicken, fish or any other protein of your choosing. Find a great and tasty roast chicken recipe here.

Roasted spuds and carrots with flakes of white fish (yum!)
potato 7
Roast dinner x

 

Bye guys until next time πŸ™‚

xxx

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Fluffy on the inside, crispy on the outside

Leave a Reply

